Honour & Awards Policy

Civil awards comprising five Orders and “President’s Award for Pride of Performance” are conferred under Article 259(2) of the Constitution, 1973 read with Decorations Act, 1975 and Notification No.1/10/79-Awards dated 13th January, 1983, as under:-

Order of Pakistan .
Order of Shuja’at.
Order of Imtiaz.
Order of Quaid-i-Azam.
Order of Khidmat.
The President’s Award for Pride of Performance

Each of the above Order has four descending categories, namely, Nishan, Hilal, Sitara and Tamgha.


Conditions for eligibility of Pakistan Civil Awards and their co-relation with officers is as per the chart at Annex

Processing of Awards

Recommendations for awards are invited from Ministries/Divisions and Provincial Governments in December so as to reach Cabinet Division by 1st March.
Recommendations received are considered by three Awards Committees during May-July.
A summary containing final recommendations is then submitted to President through Prime Minister for approval.
After Presiden’s approval awards are announced on Independence Day and their investiture takes place on Pakistan Day.
President may confer and invest awards on foreign nationals any time during the year.
Ministry of Foreign Affairs scrutinizes proposals for conferment of foreign Awards on Pakistan Nationals. The Ministry consults Ministries/Divisions concerned including Cabinet Division before submission of cases to the Prime Minister/President.
Special Investiture Ceremonies may also be held on any date to confer awards on foreign dignitaries visiting Pakistan .
Ministries/Divisions/Provincial Governments process their recommendations for conferment of such awards through Cabinet Division and Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Download Complete Policy


Comments are closed.